Diet Coke: Just Say No

This PSA is brought to you by water. It is most definitely NOT brought to you by the Coca Cola company. 

The only actual resolution that I made this year was to give up drinking soda. If I am being perfectly honest here, I used to consume a ridiculous amount of Diet Coke, Coke Zero, and Diet Doctor Pepper. I drank it for hydration. I would estimate that on any given day, I probably consumed around 40 ounces of artificially sweetened, carbonated beverages and 10-30 ounces of real, actual water. [Incidentally, I think I spent a good majority of my adult life severely dehydrated.]

I know. That’s pretty disgusting.

I had given up soda once before, but I filled the void with Diet Iced Green Tea, so I was really just substituting one artificially sweetened, chemical-laden beverage for another.

Now, I’m not a scientist (obviously), nor am I a doctor (much to the chagrin of my bank account). All I know is what I’ve gathered from my personal observation: Diet Soda is filled with nasty chemicals and we should all RUN in the opposite direction.

When I was drinking diet soda everyday, my skin looked like this:

ImageFall 2001. Very first home football game at Notre Dame. Super broken out. Also, none of my friends told me that I put my decal on upside down. We didn’t know each other that well yet. 

IMG_6898
Summer 2008. TOO SWEATY TO COVER UP WITH MAKEUP! Ugh. 

IMG_7898
Spring 2010. Still broken out [but so happy to have found my wifey ;)].

IMG_0875
Summer 2012. My face is strategically turned to hide the abomination residing on the hidden side of my face. 

I used ProActiv. I had a prescription for Retin-A. I always felt like I was teetering on the edge of having really great skin. It would all start to look like it was clearing up, and then suddenly I would have another major breakout. [I got pretty good at covering up the offending skin with makeup.]

Now, I know what you’re thinking:

1. Erin, this is because you weren’t drinking enough water. It’s not the soda’s fault!

OR

2. Erin, I drink soda [in moderation!] and my skin is perfect!

I have two responses:

1. Fair. It’s true that I am drinking much more water now. I’ll concede this point.

AND

2. Ok. Sure. Moderation in everything. BUT it’s undeniable that there is some nasty-ass shit in that 20 oz bottle of deliciousness. Maybe I just happened to be super UNLUCKY in that the nasty effects of the soda manifested themselves on my skin. Maybe it’s wreaking havoc on your kidneys, liver, stomach, intestines, blood, heart, whatever, and leaving your skin alone. Just because you can’t see what those nasty chemicals are doing to you doesn’t mean that they are not awful.

I’ve been “off the sauce” since January 1st, and my skin has never been this clear in my whole entire life. Coincidence? I think not.

Here’s a lil selfie that I took this morning. I am not wearing a stitch of makeup. [Ok. That’s a lie. There’s some mascara residue on my eyes from two days ago. You can’t win ’em all…]

photo (6)Look, Ma! No breakouts!

If you truly are what you eat [and, by extension: drink], I’d much rather be water than aspartame, acesulfame-K.

And, if you REALLY want a soda, drink a regular one. At least you can pronounce more of those ingredients.

Leave a Reply

