The Boob Tube

Although Spring is making a valiant effort [sorta], I am trapped in my apartment with my debilitating cold/eye situation. Today, I spent a good few hours working on my taxes. I have two things to say about that:

1. I work best under pressure. There’s nothing like waiting til the last minute. 

2. I don’t know how a person could make SO LITTLE money in one year and yet still owe Old Uncle Sam a good chunk of change. 

Anyway, in a fit of “get your financial life together” rage, I canceled my Netflix AND Hulu accounts. Why? Because I just don’t use them. I got Netflix to watch Downton Abbey (done) and I got Hulu to watch Breaking Bad (I stopped). I know the $16/month that I am saving between those two subscriptions isn’t really going to make a huge difference, but I’m all for trimming the fat. [If I could only bring myself to get rid of ONE of my gym memberships, I’d REALLY be making progress, but every time I think about it, I feel TOTALLY justified.]

Anyway, my roommate already has Netflix [why did I need my own account? I don’t know.] and he just informed me that he splurged on some fancy cables that will connect our computers to our television. I’ll just steal my mom’s HBO Go login, then probably reactivate my Hulu account, and… WE ARE CANCELING OUR CABLE! KA-CHING! Sorrynotsorry, TimeWarner.  

However, in the spirit of all things TV [and in a totally opposite spirit of cable canceling and Netflix/Hulu deactivations], I present to you a list of TV shows that are on my “To Watch” list. Much like my book list, most people will think I’m crazy for not having already seen 99% of these. But that’s ok. Just be jealous that I get to experience them for the first time!

True Blood
24
American Horror Story
Walking Dead
Homeland
Breaking Bad
Sopranos
Weeds
Fringe
Heros (Season 1 only, is what the peeps are saying)
Dawson’s Creek
Gilmore Girls
United States of Tara
Nurse Jackie
Strangers with Candy
The Big C
Mildred Pierce
The Newsroom
The West Wing
30 Rock
Modern Family
Up All Night
Game of Thrones
Boardwalk Empire
The Wire
How I Met Your Mother
Gossip Girl
The Good Wife

The thing I am MOST sad about with our cable cancellation is that I won’t be able to watch Dexter when it comes back on. However, I’m sure that I’ll be able to console myself with the many, many dollars I’ll be saving. 

Are there any other shows that should be added to this list?

7 thoughts on “The Boob Tube

  1. IMHO, West Wing is the best show ever on television. Ever. Enjoy!
    Hope the cold/eye thing gets better soon! Hugs Erin!

    • Thank you! I’ve seen pieces of the West Wing, but I haven’t sat down and watched it start to finish and everyone RAVES about it, so… I guess I just need to do it :).

Leave a Reply

