She’s Reading, Okay?

Immediately after I graduated from high school, I had my wisdom teeth removed.

[Related Story: Before the procedure, I asked my mom if the Tooth Fairy would be visiting me. She informed me that the Tooth Fairy would be visiting my surgeon, thankyouverymuch. As I emerged from anesthesia, I heard her having a conversation with my doctor. He asked her if she wanted to keep my teeth. What were the first, drugged-up words out of my mouth? “OOOOOH! TOOTH FAIRY!!!” I probably could have given David a run for his money.]

During my recovery, I planted myself in the hammock in my backyard with books 1-4 of the Harry Potter series. I devoured them. I was totally caught up in the magical world. At about the halfway point of the fourth book, I had a staggering realization: Once I finished that book, I wasn’t going to have anything else to read. [The fifth book wasn’t going to be released for another two years.] In a fit of complete and total irrationality, I just stopped reading. I know. That action defies logic [and yet, still makes sense in my mind].

It was a few years before I picked up the books again [I re-read books 1-4 and then finished the series]. The original feelings I had of being immersed in another world, however, were the same.

For a longer time than I am willing to admit, I have been struggling to get through Devil in the White City. Everyone that I know raves about it. It just wasn’t really for me. However, I cannot abandon a book once I’ve begun reading it. It took an agonizingly long time to finish. To put it mildly: reading it was NOT a Harry Potter-esque experience for me.

Since finishing the book last week, I’ve been completely and utterly consumed by a new series.

***Before reading on, please place your ‘no judgment’ caps upon your heads.***

I started Fifty Shades and I have not been able to put them down. I shamelessly read it on the subway. I’ve turned down social events and excursions to read. I’ve claimed that I had work to do, or I didn’t want to be hung over, or I was really tired. In actuality, I have been staying awake until ungodly hours of the night devouring every page.

I’m not claiming that they are believable or even well written. However, they ARE page-turners and it is SO amazing to get lost in a book. The escape is thrilling.

Anyway, the silliest part of this whole story is that I am a book hoarder. HOARDER. I LOVE to buy books. I then promptly put them on my shelves and never read them. [My mom is the complete opposite of me. She buys and reads books voraciously and then immediately gives them away. I think one of her greatest disappointments in life is that she and I don’t have the same taste in literature.]

So, I’ve been compiling something of a reading list for myself, mostly based on books that I already own.

Now, once again you can withhold judgment on the actual books. I’m not claiming that I have great literary taste. In this instance, I defer to this scene from A League Of Their Own.

Mae Mordabito: Sound it out…
Shirley Baker: Kimm…
Mae: Kimono.
Shirley: Kimono, kimono. Off. And. Gr– Gra– Grabb”d.
Mae: Grabbed.
Shirley: Her. M– mi– mil– mil– milky, milky. White, white. Milky white.
Evelyn Gardner: Mae! What are you giving her to read?
Mae: Oh, what difference does it make? She’s reading, okay? That’s the important thing. Now go away, go, shoo, shoo. Go ahead, Shirley, you’re doing good.
Shirley: Thanks, Mae. Milky white bre– breasts!
[Gives Mae a surprised look]
Mae: It gets really good after that. Look. The delivery boy walked in.

BOOKS CURRENTLY ON MY SHELF:

Fifty Shades series (currently halfway through the 2nd book) [completed 4/18]
Divergent, Insurgent [completed 5/7… Awaiting Allegiant 10/22/13!!!]
A Return to Love
The Life of PI
The Girl Who Played With Fire, The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest
Geek Love
The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay
The Casual Vacancy
The Secret Life of Bees
Wicked
The Perks of Being a Wallflower
One Hundred Years of Solitude
A Soprano On Her Head
Atonement
Without You
The Picture of Dorian Gray
The Game of Thrones (all 5 books)
Percy Jackson (all 5 books)
Good in Bed
House of Leaves
Eat Pray Love

BOOKS CURRENTLY ON MY KINDLE:

The Great Gatsby
Anna Karenina
The Help

CURRENT RECOMMENDATIONS FROM FRIENDS:

Gone Girl
The Rules of Civility
Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close
How to be a Woman
Are You There Vodka…, My Horizontal Life
Bossy Pants

Since I’m not an incredibly fast reader to begin with, I’m sure this will keep me busy for some time. Is there anything else that is a must read? Anything on here that I should skip? Are you judging me for loving Fifty Shades? [I don’t care. I can take it.]

*Updated upon completion of books.

7 thoughts on “She’s Reading, Okay?

  1. Haha! Loved this post because I am currently reading the 3rd book in the 50 Shades trilogy. Thank goodness for e-readers so I can read on the subway. I wouldn’t be caught dead with the actual book.

    I absolutely LOVED Gone Girl and if you read it and like it I recommend Flynn’s other two books, Dark Places and Sharp Objects (Sharp Objects was my least favorite of the 3). Also if you like the dark read (which I do), I highly recommend The Dinner by Herman Koch.

    I didn’t enjoy Life of Pi but I read it so long ago perhaps I was too young… My reading tastes have definitely changed/developed. Also, I think I told you this once, I really didn’t like Wicked and it took me a painfully long time to get through it. But I loved the musical!

    • Oh my god. It’s the fastest I’ve read any books in a LONG time (shameful!). I finished book 1 last night and I’m already one page 150 of the 2nd book. SHAMEFUL!

      I will definitely put those other books on the list. I actually started Life of Pi a long time ago and could never get into it… I’ll give it another go. I know a lot of people had a hard time with Wicked, but my mom has read ALL of his books and loved them. So, we’ll see…

      I’m so glad I’m not alone in my 50 Shades love :).

  2. I read all kinds and would never judge. I go from romances to mysteries to comedies. But I love the classics, too! You have a wide variety to choose from and there are time racy materials help me a lot!

  3. Pingback: Be Careful What You Catcall | Soul Gets It Right

  4. Pingback: The Boob Tube | Soul Gets It Right

Leave a Reply

