Are You My Boyfriend: Gilbert Blythe

ImageGil: It’ll be three years before I finish medical school. Even then there won’t be any diamond sunbursts or marble halls.

Anne: I don’t want diamond sunbursts or marble halls. I just want you.

I mean. Honestly!

I am quite certain that the Anne Shirley/Gilbert Blythe courtship (along with a handful of other things, Dirty Dancing being one of the gravest offenders) ruined me at a very young age for all love. Obviously the truest romance naturally occurs after you float down a river in a leaky canoe reciting The Lady of Shalott, a cute boy pulls your hair and nicknames you “Carrots”, you dance away an enchanting evening in a gorgeous baby blue dress with puffed sleeves, you meet kindred spirits, and eventually you and that cute boy marry.

It’s just perfect. Pass the raspberry cordial.

Leave a Reply

