Now What?

Actual conversation I had with my therapist today:

Me: So. Uh. I have jury duty tomorrow and, um… I’m actually kinda looking forward to it… cause…

Her: Cause it’s something to do?

Me: Yeah…

Now that I’m done with my half marathon, I’m experiencing some letdown. It’s like the day after Christmas. Sadly, there’s no half price half-marathon candy at Duane Reade the day after the race to lessen the blow. [This probably makes me a prime candidate for postpartum depression some day. Oh joy.] Training was such a huge part of my day-to-day existence, I feel sort of sad without it now.

So, now what?

I suppose the best strategy would be to set a new goal, one with a definite ending point or means of measuring my success [those goals seem to be the most satisfying, right?]. As I look back on my hopes for 2013, there are a few things that jump out at me.

10. Cook more. I have DRASTICALLY reduced my delivery.com consumption (YAY!), but I’m still not really, actually cooking. I heat things up. Occasionally I make pasta. I wouldn’t really call those things cooking.

17. Go on some dates. OkCupid Month of Yes got a little waylaid by my training. I’m going to keep at it (I have a date tonight, actually), but I’m also going to explore some other options. I know that this is 2013 and everyone is on OkCupid, but sometimes it just feels so forced and fake to meet people through the interwebs.

19. Keep my room clean. And really, my whole apartment, while I’m at it. I want to buy some new furniture and linens, but I have decided that I cannot do that until I keep my apartment consistently clean for a good amount of time [what is a good amount of time? 4 months?].

25. Get back into dance class. This is an addition! I used to dance a lot [A+ for effort, but I was never going to be on So You Think You Can Dance or anything like that] and I miss it. Ideally, I’d like to take 3-5 classes per week, but they are expensive. I’m going to commit myself to one class per week and see how it goes from there.

For some reason, this video seems apropos. I can do anything good!

How do you pull yourself up after something major has passed?

6 thoughts on “Now What?

  1. Erin, I feel this way after a big event. Here’s good news: you will be so tired and busy with a new baby that that’s one you needn’t worry about. Here’s to clean linen. And check out Dr. Weil’s recipe for Roasted Butternut Squash, Apple, and Pomegranate Salad. Really not that hard and insanely tasty.

    • Brenny,

      Good to know about the baby! I suppose there’s a reason why they say being a mom is the most selfless job in the world :).

      I will for sure check out that recipe! Sounds delicious and so perfect for the warmer weather that is on its way (or it should be…)

      Thanks for reading!

      Erin

  2. Another well-written and thoughtful post. I am enjoying your blog. I’m not sure that I agree with your contention that the goals “. . . with a definite ending point or means of measuring my success ” are bound to be the most satisfying.

    In fact, when we dedicate ourselves to something with a tangible end, we can often con ourselves into thinking that achieving the end will change us. Too often folks think graduation, or marriage or a new job or hitting a certain time will change who they are for the better. In my experience, those endpoints can just leave you with a ton of drive and suddenly no outlet. And that built-up drive can turn to anxiety.

    There’s something to be said for the process being something to invest in rather than the goal. For instance, yoga is impossible to perfect, as is boxing, or lifting — but the rewards are in the process of pursuing ever more excellence.

    Anyway, good stuff. Enjoy jury duty.

    • Justin!

      First of all, thanks so much for reading!

      I agree with you about the longer-term goals without a definite ending point. Experiencing pride and joy in the process is so important. I suppose I just feel like I have a LOT of those, so having more finite things to work towards while pursuing the “bigger picture” items helps to keep me motivated.

      This is actually the first time I have EVER had jury duty, so I’m sure it will be an experience, if nothing else.

      Erin

  3. Hi. This is going to be short and sweet. If running/training was such a big part of your day-to-day existence and you are sad that it’s over then why don’t you keep running/training? In fact, I know of a nice little (not little, they’re all the same distance) 1/2 marathon in the beautiful city of Toronto that you could do in October. With me. Well, judging by your time you’d be ahead of me but we could still celebrate together after 🙂

Leave a Reply

