Disposable Clothing: An Ode to Forever21

As one of my goals for 2013 was to purge my closet, it should come as no surprise that I have difficulties parting with my possessions. I also have a fierce Forever21 habit that can only be quelled by, well, avoiding Forever21 at all costs.

Though Forever21 is one of the pioneers of the “disposable clothing” crusade, there are a few pieces in my closet that have proven to be timeless [ahem]. If one day they betray me and show their thread-bare colors, I will be devastated. Below, I pay tribute to their awesomeness.

1. Strapless, Stretch Denim Tube Dress

Dress

This has been my dress of choice for not one, but two New York City birthdays. It’s maybe my favorite dress of all time. It can be styled up or down. Pair it with tights and ankle boots in the winter, bare legs and strappy platform sandals in the summer. It’s pretty much a perfect, flawless dress. [What some might call trashy and tasteless, I revere as my holy grail of apparel. I love it so much. I can’t possibly wear it enough… which is asking a lot of an F21 dress.]

Birthdays
Birthday 2009 || Birthday 2012

2. White Pants [Jeans?]

Pants

White pants are hard. They are universally unflattering. And yet, I love these. It doesn’t hurt that for some inexplicable reason, the size that fit me in the store is a good TWO SIZES SMALLER than what I normally wear. They are part of my summer uniform. I wear them in the winter and insist that they are “winter white.” See, so versatile! Forever21 wins again!

3. Teal “Silk” Flower Hair Clip

Flower

I like to wear flowers in my hair on every day that ends in -day. I blame it on my NorCal roots, a la “If You’re Going to San Francisco, Be Sure to Wear Some…” This one is BIG, which I appreciate, because I like my hair to be big, too. [So proportionately, it fits.] The clutch feature of this particular flower, though, is that is has an alligator clip to fasten it to your head. If you’re a lady, this needs no explanation. If you’re not a lady… OMG. WELCOME TO MY BLOG! HOW CAN I RETAIN YOU AS A READER?! [I’m sure the answer is: write more about okcupid sexy times and less about your silly Forever21 purchases. Noted.] It’s worth mentioning that I am also wearing this flower in that birthday picture, too.

4. Yoga Shorts [?]

Shorts

One day, I was meandering through the four floors of gloriousness that is the Times Square Forever21* when I happened upon a display of workout clothing. Did my eyes deceive me? I had never seen such apparel at an F21. Come to think of it, I haven’t actually seen workout clothing at a Forever21 since. I purchased these shorts. For a gal who can’t even afford free yoga at Lululemon, let alone a pair of pants, these shorts were a revelation. They are an integral part of my workout clothing rotation.

5. Thin Gold Belt

Belt

This is my newest Can’t-Live-Without Forever21 acquisition. I bought it to accompany my New Year’s Eve ensemble. It is the perfect level of sparkly and skinny. I fear that, as a belt that cost $4.99, it will be the first to meet its maker, That Great Synthetic Material Manufacturer in the Sky.

I will occasionally go through periods where I think I should quit Forever21. I mean, the title of the store tells you what age you should be whilst perusing their wares. But then I open the doors of my bulging closet, admire my loot [not one single article costing more than $34.80], and breathe a sigh of contentment. Like my girl Mariah says, we belong together [especially when I don’t have the funds for F21’s exotic, pricier first-cousin-once-removed, Modcloth].

*I hate Times Square with the fire of 1,000 women scorned, and yet this Forever21 is worth braving the crowds of tourists and Praline Peanut Peddlers. It is SO GOOD.

Leave a Reply

